Locked out!

Did not feel particularly inspired today, and almost did not post anything. I’ll admit that this photo is not particularly inspiring, but I was using it to demonstrate what one could do in Lightroom with a RAW image.  Rather than post nothing this evening, you get this photo I shot in D.C. during the Scott Kelby Photowalk.

Locked out

Actually, that is not a multiple shot HDR photo. It is one RAW file that I tweaked in Lightroom to tame the dynamic range by dragging down the RECOVERY slider, and dragging the black to the left a bit to get some more contrast. I also picked spot in the previously blown out sky (recovered with the recover slider) and adjusted the LUMINANCE in Lightroom to get the blue more sky like. After all that, I used TOPAZ ADJUST, some filters in Color Efex 3 and then added three textures, that I painted in and out where needed (in blend overlay mode). I suppose I could have saved some time by just running the one RAW file through PHOTOMATIX, but was demonstrating to a friend what one could do with LR so I did not.

~ by exposedbythelight on October 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
