Seeing Red

Here is another shot from Beelitz-Heilstätten sanitarium, this one a bit less saturated in color for the effect I was after.  When I was in this room, I thought about the movies Psycho and The Shinning, as well as about the grubby motels you can find on some of the old stretches of highway in the USA.  Those images in my head informed my processing, which is the look and feel I hope this image conveys.  In fact, I almost called this image Red Rum, a famous couple of words from The Shining.  I decided to call it Seeing Red, as that conveys the same feeling, covers the color of the ‘fridge, and also invokes the shower seen from the creepy Bates Motel in Psycho!

Seeing Red

~ by exposedbythelight on January 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Seeing Red”

  1. Amazing work of art……. some one said “Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt”. great work mate.

    • Thank you very much for the kind words. I do enjoy creating art, and seems the more I do it, the more I learn and am able to refine my technique. I do love your comparison of my work to poetry, which is a wonderful compliment.

Leave a Reply

 
