My first URBEX HDR Video Tutorial

I have had a lot of folks ask me to put together a short video explaining how I go about shooting my HDRs, as well as how I post process.  I decided to do this in two stages.  This first video will give you a bit of an idea of how I look for a subject, compose and shoot my work.  I also comment a bit about my vision for the scene, and how I plan to create my intended vision in post processing.  My next post will cover post-processing.  If it turns out that folks like what they see here, I will do more videos in the future, so please do leave feedback to let me know what you think, how I can make it better, and what you would like to see here in the future.  Oh yeah!  Be somewhat gentle on my video editing, as it is my first time editing with Final Cut Express.  I still have ot figured out how to creat and import titles with LiveType!  Boy, am I pathetic!  Good thing I have a day job.

To watch the video, just click on the underlined link below:

URBEX HDR Video Tutorial 1 from fotofreq on Vimeo.

Out of Service

~ by exposedbythelight on January 31, 2010.

2 Responses to “My first URBEX HDR Video Tutorial”

  1. I really, really enjoy this video! I do think that the audio should be brought down a bit as it muffles your voice.

    Overall, this location makes me drool in terms of its HDR potential. Where is this location, if you don’t mind me asking?

    Superb job composing and processing the image, as well. Totally love it.

    Keep it up!

    Brian

    PS – can you follow me on Twitter (@brianmatiash). I wanted to send you some Direct Messages but it won’t allow me to until you follow me. Thanks!

    • Hi Brian. So glad you liked the video, and I really appreciate the feedback. I shot that photo and video at the abandoned sanatorium at Beelitz Heilstätten, near Berlin, Germany. I am lucky enough to live only 30 mins away, so I get a chance to go there often on a whim. Great place to shoot as there are so many buildings once can access.

      BTW, you should be able to DM me now on twitter as I have added you to my contact list.

      Cheers;
      Jacques

Leave a Reply

 
