The Getaway Car

I find myself returning again and again to the abandoned sanatorium of Beelitz-Heilstätten, especially when I feel myself in a creative rut. If you can’t find a worth subject to capture at Beelitz, you’re just not looking. This morning, I only had about an hour t shoot, as I promised my wife I would be back before 9am. Of course that also meant up at 5am! I arrived at Beelitz about 20 minutes before sunrise, hoping to capture one of the buildings with a brilliant sunrise behind it. Unfortunately, it was dull day, and the sun remained obscured by a thick wall of gray sky. Once I had enough light to explore the woods without falling into an uncovered manhole or stepping on one of the many nails pocking out from under the leaves, I headed off to an area of the complex I had not explored before.

About 50 meters into the wood-line, I came across this old car and set up to capture it for HDR processing. I loved the contrast of the car’s color against the stark gray weather and buildings, and knew it would make for a nice shot. All I had to do was get the right composition, which was a bit tough given the tight quarters between the woodshed on the left, and the building on the right. As usual, the Nikkor 14-24 f/2.8, set at 14mm, saved the day. Once I settled on the composition I wanted through the viewfinder, I set up the tripod, mounted the D700 and captured my primary 5 brackets (-2, -1, 0, +1 and +2 EV). As i had guessed, I found when I looked at the captures that the +2EV exposure did not give me enough details in the shadow areas. No problemo. I manually dialed in +3EV, took a shot, and then dialed in +4EV to take the final shot. Looking at the cameras Histogram, I saw I had what I needed and headed off to a nearby building to look for a new subject. Final shots (a total o f 7) used for this image covered the range of -2EV to +4EV.

The Getaway Car

~ by exposedbythelight on March 13, 2010.

4 Responses to “The Getaway Car”

  1. Thanks for sharing all these details!!! Very nice capture!

  2. Hey, I really like this little by little exploration of abandoned sites that you’re doing. Looks like Germany is a great place for this kind of thing. And your photos are stunning!

Leave a Reply

 
