Delicate Beauty

Sometimes, you just don’t have a chance to get out of the house to photograph something interesting.  When that happens, I try to find something around the house to capture.  My lovely wife had been kind enough to provide a suitable subject when she bought a nice bouquet of tulips for a Sunday dinner party.  Not wanting to waste the opportunity, I pulled out my D700, Tamron 90mm SP AF 2.8 macro lens and my trusty tripod to try a little HDR magic on one of the tulips.  It took my some time to find just the angle I wanted.  As I looked through the viewfinder, I composed for the shot I had envisioned.  I knew that I wanted to accentuate the soft, delicate nature of this beautiful flower, so I chose to open the aperture to f/4.5.  Since I was on a tripod, I also dialed my ISO down to 100 to keep the RAW images smooth and noiseless.

Because I was not shooting across a broad dynamic range, I knew that shooting five exposures on my Nikon (-2 to +2EV) would give me everything I needed to get the viewer to focus on the center of the tulip.  Once I had the five shots I needed, it was off to Adobe Lightroom, Photomatix and Photoshop.  To process the shot, I left all my the center of the flower alone.  The only HDR tonemapping in this shot is in the center of the flower, which I blended into the final image using a layer mask in Photoshop.  I think I like the way this one turned out.

delicate beauty

~ by exposedbythelight on March 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
